One More Shot

Typical drinking song, with some fun wordplay in it.  I’ve had the chorus for this for ages, and finally got started with the verses when I heard Elvis Costello’s “Down Among the Wine and Spirits” on Secret, Profane, and Sugarcane.  The melody borrows heavily from the bridge of “Somewhere Over the Rainbow”…

Click on the title to link to the mp3.

One More Shot

I could soak my soul in spirits, I could drown my mind with wine,
and I bet I’ll still be lonely when it comes to closing time
Keep on pouring, partner, c’mon, let the liquor flow
It probably won’t bring her back, but hey, you never know,

Chorus:
I don’t think that I can drink away this heartache that I’ve got
But tonite I’m going to give it one more shot.

Don’t it sound so easy when you hear the people say
They’re headed for the barroom to drink their cares away.
I hope that it’ll happen every time I come in here
But tho the glass is empty, my eyes are filled with tears

Chorus

Bridge:
I’ll take one more shot of anything you’ve got behind the bar
I’ll wish on empty bottles just like they were falling stars
And every wish I make will be just like the one before
I’ll be wishing that the next one is the last one I need poured.

Published in: on March 27, 2010 at 5:53 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://idlehandsmusic.wordpress.com/2010/03/27/one-more-shot/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Such a great song, Nathan! But, dang, my man, you’re almost as much of a slacker as I’ve become. Let’s get back to work, the both of us, whaddya say?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

