7.2.09 (Song Two): Michigan

This one was inspired by “Carolina on my Mind”, the James Taylor song.  I wrote it last night with the help of an atlas.  Click on the title to link to it.

Michigan

I wish I came from Carolina
I wish I came from Tennessee
I’m trying to write a song about my home
And it is not coming easily.

‘Cause I come from Michigan
A name that won’t roll off the tongue
It’s unpleasant when it’s spoken
It’s ungainly when it’s sung

If you’re going to San Francisco
If Sweet home Chicago is where you’re bound
Think of me in Battle Creek or Milford,
Colon, Frankenmuth or Gagetown.

Chorus

“California” has a certain rhythm
“Minnesota” has a melody
But there’s no way you’ll ever write a song with
Dowagiac, or Flint, or Imlay City

Published in: on July 2, 2009 at 5:04 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://idlehandsmusic.wordpress.com/2009/07/02/7-2-09-song-two-michigan/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

