7.20.09 (Song Fourteen): Gertrude

This one is about the effects of love on one’s judgment.  One take, guitar and vocal into the Mac mic.

Gertrude

Is there any sound as sweet as when you’re name is spoken?
Is there a melody that can compare?
Your name dances in my head every time that it is is said
And so my love for you I must declare

Gertrude, oh Gertrude,
your name is like music to my ears
Gertrude, oh Gertrude,
It’s the only sound I want to hear.

I’ve known many Jennifers and several Suzannes
I’ve known Natalies and Juliettes
But those weren’t the girls for me, their names were a cacophony
While Gertrude sounds just like a string quartet

Published in: on July 20, 2009 at 7:10 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://idlehandsmusic.wordpress.com/2009/07/20/7-20-09-song-fourteen-gertrude/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

