7.21.09 (Song Fifteen): Cans

This one was not very fun to write.  A good song about Michigan’s bottle return remains my white whale.

(Bring Back the) Cans

The fridge was empty and the cupboard was bare
I checked my wallet, there was nothing there
I flipped the cushions and I checked the couch
Not a penny or a nickel, and so now,

Chorus:
I’ve got to bring back the cans
Bring back the cans
Have you ever been there, when the times demand
That you bring back the cans?

I got ’em all together in some big garbage bags
Loaded up the car til the suspension sagged
I got the soda syrup on me, and I can’t say I was pleased
When I was attacked by a swarm of honey bees

Chorus:
I’ve got to bring back the cans
Bring back the cans
I’ve got the steering wheel sticking to my hand
As I bring back the cans

I filled up a shopping cart with clanking glass and tin
I pushed them to the register and turned them all in
The cashier finished counting, paid it out and off I went
With a pocket full of 4 dollars and 35 cents

Chorus:
I’m bringing back the cans
Bringing back the cans
Is there anything that’s more humiliating than
bringing back the cans.

Published in: on July 22, 2009 at 2:29 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://idlehandsmusic.wordpress.com/2009/07/22/7-21-09-song-fifteen-cans/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

